New Site coming up at

Sunday, November 05, 2006

New chairman of Thoothukudi district panchayat assumes office

The newly elected chairman of Thoothukudi District panchayat, N Chinnadurai, assumed office, here at the district panchayat council hall in the District Collectorate, on Friday, in the presence of District Collector R Palaniyandi, Secretary of the panchayat Mahadevan Pillai.

Chinnadurai of AIADMK was elected as the chairman of Thoothukudi District panchayat along with MDMK’s Mavelrajan as the deputy chairman in the indirect election held on October 28.

Former minister and the sitting Tiruchendur MLA, Anitha R Radhakrishnan along with other AIADMK MLAs, Sathangulam panchayat union chairman, Anandaraj, Thoothukudi Muncipal councillor, Suresh Kumar and the MDMK district panchayat councillors, participated in the function.

Speaking to reporters, he said that he would strive for the development of the district by giving priority over the basic needs of the people like drinking water and road.

Source: New Ind Press

No comments: