New Site coming up at

Saturday, December 09, 2006

Tuticorin Technical Institutes come under Anna University, Tirchy

Two more technical universities will be established at Tiruchi and Coimbatore. The Assembly passed the Bills on Thursday.

The new universities will be named Anna University, Tiruchirapalli, and Anna University, Coimbatore. The existing Anna University will be known as Anna University, Chennai.

Replying to the debate, Minister for Higher Education K. Ponmudi said managing the affairs of more than 240 affiliated engineering colleges in the State had become a near impossibility. To ensure better and effective monitoring of the colleges the new universities were being set up.

About 150 engineering colleges in Chennai, Kancheepuram, Thiruvallur, Vellore, Thiruvannamalai and Villupuram districts will come under the purview of Anna University, Chennai. The Tiruchi university will have control over 75 engineering colleges in Tiruchi, Cuddalore, Kanyakumari, Madurai, Tirunelveli, Tuticorin, Virudhunagar, Nagapatinam, Pudukottai, Ramanathapuram, Sivagangai, Thanjavur, Perambalur, and Thiruvarur districts.

A total of 53 engineering colleges in Coimbatore, Dindigul, Erode, Karur, the Nilgiris, Theni, Dharamapuri, Krishnagiri, Namakkal and Salem districts will be affiliated to Anna University, Coimbatore. The new entities will be independent and have separate vice-chancellors and registrars.

Source: The Hindu

No comments: