New Site coming up at

Sunday, October 22, 2006

Arrangements in place for counting for 22 centres in Tuticorin

The district administration has made elaborate arrangements for the counting of votes, polled during the local body elections, on Wednesday.

Speaking to media persons, Collector R. Palaniyandi said counting would begin simultaneously in 22 centres established across the district at 8 a.m., amidst tight police security.

"Of the total counting stations, 12 were to be used for counting of votes polled in panchayat unions, seven for town panchayats and three for municipalities."

The votes polled at Tuticorin municipality would be counted at Kamaraj College, Tuticorin, while the votes polled at Kovilpatti municipality and at the third grade municipality at Kayalpattinam counted at Ayiravysia Higher Secondary School, Kovilpatti, and St Thomas HSS, Veerapandiapattinam, respectively.

Mr. Palaniyandi said the votes polled at 12 panchayat unions would be counted at centres at Tuticorin, Seiduganallur, Sawyerpuram, Nazareth, Tiruchendur, Pandara Chettivilai, Sattankulam, Kovilpatti, Perilovanpatti and Pudur. Following are the centres identified for counting of votes in the town panchayats, with the names of town panchayats covered under them given in brackets: St Thomas HSS, Veerapandiapattinam (Tiruchendur, Arumuganeri, Authoor and Kanam); S U Middle School, Prakashpuram (Nazareth, Sattankulam and Udangudi); Pope College, Sawyerpuram (Sawyerpuram, Eral, Srivaikundam and Perungulam); Hindu HSS, Alwarthirunageri (Alwarthirunageri and Thenthirupathi); Bharatiar Centenary Memorial Government Girl's HSS, Ettayapuram (Ettayapuram, Vilathikulam and Pudur); Government HSS, Kazhugamalai ( Kazhugamalai); and Veerapandia Kattabomman HSS, Kayathar (Kayathar).

The Collector said that a total of 3,267 personnel were appointed for the counting process and 374 police personnel would be used to ensure protection to the 22 counting centres.

Besides, a team of senior officials was entrusted to monitor the counting in all the 12 blocks.

While the District Revenue Officer would oversee the counting to be held at centres falling under Pudur and Vilathikulam blocks, Project Officer of Mahilar Thittam was assigned to monitor counting at Kovilpatti and Kayathar blocks.

The Project Officer of DRDA would be the supervisor for Tuticorin, Ottapidaram and Karungulam blocks and Joint Registrar of Co-operative Societies would cover Sattankulam and Udangudi blocks.

The Collector himself would supervise the counting at the centres falling under Tiruchendur, Srivaikundam and Alwarthirunageri blocks.

Source: The Hindu

No comments: