New Site coming up at

Monday, October 30, 2006

DMK victorious in six panchayat unions in Tuticorin

In the elections held to the posts of Chairman of 12 Panchayat Unions in the district on Saturday, the DMK came out victorious in six unions, the AIADMK in three unions, the Congress in one and Independents in two unions.

While DMK candidates became Chairmen in Tuticorin, Karungulam, Srivaikundam, Alwarthirunageri, Tiruchendur and Kovilpatti panchayat unions, the AIADMK men registered victories in Sattankulam, Vilathikulam and Pudur unions, and Congress won in Udangudi.

Independents tasted victory in the elections held in Ottapidaram and Kayathar unions.

V. Karunakaran of the DMK was elected Chairman of Tuticorin union, after he upset the applecart of V.P.R. Suresh of the AIADMK, who was Chairman in the previous term, by the closest margin.

Mr. Karunakaran won by a 13-12 score in the union council, which had 25 ward members.

Following are the other victors: Karungulam - Avanna Kosalaram Raja (DMK); Srivaikundam - A Selvi (DMK); Tiruchendur - S Umadevi (DMK); Udangudi — Y Rajaratinam ( Congress); Sattankulam- Anantharaj (AIADMK); Kovilpatti - V Murugesan ( DMK); Kayathar- A Perumal ( Independent); Vilathikulam - S Amudhavalli (AIADMK); Pudur - V Markandeyan (AIADMK) and S Sukirta (Independent).

Among the winners, S. Umadevi, Anantharaj, Murugesan and Perumal were elected unopposed.

The elections to the post of vice-chairmen to the respective unions were held in the evening. The elections at Ottapidaram were postponed since there was no quorum.

In the elections to the post of presidents to 19 Town panchayats in the district, DMK and AIADMK candidates shared five each, Congress men won in two and Independents succeeded in seven.

Following are the winners: Tiruchendur — M. M. Mahendran (AIADMK); Arumuganeri — S. Ponraj (AIADMK); Authoor — A. N. S. Sheikh Dawood (AIADMK); Eral — M. R. Kannan (Ind); Ettayapuram - T Rajendran (Ind); Kazhugamalai — A Subbramanaian (Ind); Nazareth — S Mamannan (Ind); Sattankulam - P. Thangathai (Congress); Sawyerpuram - D. Ponsekhar (Ind); Srivaikundam - Kandasiva Subbu (DMK); Udangudi - Shahul Hameed (Congress); Vilathikulam — M. Bhuvaneswari (DMK); Alwarthirunageri — C. Athinathan (AIADMK); Kadambur - M Rajarajeswari (Ind); Kayathar - P Arumugan (DMK); Pudur — V. Jeyavel (Ind); Kanam — V. Senthamiz Sekhar (AIADMK); Perungulam - T Sivakumar - (DMK); and Thenthiruperi — P. Chandran ( DMK).

The Collector R. Palaniyandi told mediapersons that a special officer was appointed to govern the Sivagnanapuram village panchayat, as no election was conducted to the posts of panchayat president as well as ward members owing to non-filing of applications.

Source: The Hindu

No comments: