New Site coming up at

Saturday, October 14, 2006

Tuticorin Port Trust (TPT) Chairman NK Raghupathy lost in the contest JNPT deputy chairman to Maya Sinha

Maya Sinha, a 1981 batch Indian Revenue Service officer, is likely to take over as deputy chairperson of the Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust (JNPT).

Tuticorin Port Trust (TPT) Chairman NK Raghupathy has emerged as a strong contender for the post of chairman of the port trust.

Sources from the ministry of shipping said Sinha, who currently handles the finance portfolio of the Khadi and Village Industries Centre (KVIC) with specialisation in income tax, is expected to take charge by the middle of next week.

R Ravikumar, JNPT secretary, had the additional charge of deputy chairman of JNPT following the transfer of Neera Saggi to SEEPZ.

However, the government has not yet issued an order for appointment of a chairman for the port trust. Ravi B Budhiraja retired as chairman in May.

At present, Mumbai Port Trust Chairperson Rani Jadhav holds the additional charge of chairman of JNPT.

Shipping Secretary AK Mohapatra said: “The government is aware that JNPT’s top post is lying vacant. It will shortly appoint a chairman for the port.”

Industry sources said current TPT Chairman and Sethusamudram Corporation Chairman and Managing Director NK Raghupathy is top on the list of contenders for the chairman’s post.

“BrihanMumbai Mahanagarpalika Corporation Municipal Commissioner Johny Joseph was the first choice earlier. But Maharashtra was reluctant to relieve Joseph in the wake of incessant rains followed by floods in Mumbai,” they said.

The source that several Maharashtra cadre IAS officers are also in the race for JNPT’s top post.

Also, the post of chief manager (finance) has been lying vacant for 15 months.

Source: Business Stnadard

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Your blog keeps getting better and better! Your older articles are not as good as newer ones you have a lot more creativity and originality now keep it up!