New Site coming up at

Monday, October 30, 2006

Victory for AIADMK in Tuticorin

The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam-led alliance retained supremacy in the district panchayat elections, as N. Chinnadurai (AIADMK) was elected Chairman of District Panchayat defeating his rival, C. S. Raja (DMK) by 10 votes to eight here on Saturday.

The council has a total of 18 members including seven each from the AIADMK and the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, three from the Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam and one from the Congress.

Official sources told mediapersons that Tuticorin was the only district in the State where the AIADMK got supremacy in the District Panchayat elections.

The elections to the post of District Panchayat Chairman were held at the Collectorate during the first council meeting of the newly inducted district panchayat on Saturday morning.

Mr. Chinnadurai and Mr. Raja submitted their nominations to the Collector R. Palaniyandi, the Returning Officer for the elections.

The Project Officers of District Rural Development Agency and Mahilar Thittam, A. Palanisamy and Madasamy, were present to ensure smooth polling.

As the results were announced in favour of Mr. Chinnadurai, AIADMK cadres led by former Minister and Tiruchendur MLA, Anitha Radhakrishnan, rushed to the Collectorate and garlanded the victor.

Source: The Hindu

No comments: